Hello world!

"The Owl Keeper" - coming April 2010!

Hello world, this is the launch of my Owl Tracks blog. Today is December 2nd, and tonight’s the last full moon of 2009. I’m sitting at my new Shaker desk, brought back from Vermont two days ago. The timing couldn’t be better..

I’m Christine Brodien-Jones and I write fantasy/ adventure books for ’tweens and teens. I live in Gloucester, Massachusetts, the oldest seaport in the country, in an upside-down house with a view of the sea. When the wind blows down from the north, my house creaks like an old ship. My writing corner is upstairs (because our bedrooms are downstairs!) and from there I watch the ocean, which is forever changing. When I gaze out past the salt marshes and overturned boats, I see sky and waves and shifting colors everywhere. It’s easy to envision faraway places and worlds.

I wrote my first story about a dragon and I’ve been writing fantasy ever since. I grew up reading fairy tales (“Bluebeard” still makes me shiver!), horror comic-books, and time- and space-travel tales from Edward Eager, Ray Bradbury and Madeleine L’Engle. I was also captivated by those black-and-white fifties movies I watched on late-night television: “Creature from the Black Lagoon,” “The Mummy,” “Invasion of the Body Snatchers,” and my favorite of all, “Dracula.”

I enjoy writing fantasy because in this genre there are no limits: I can let my imagination run wild, inventing entire worlds that never were, creating scenarios that are terrifying, whimsical or futuristic. I can travel with my characters to amazing places, far beyond the boundaries of my ordinary world. The reason I love writing for young people is because I remember my own childhood and the excitement of reading books. I still recall the nooks and crannies of my hometown library, the musty smell of old pages, and the delicious feeling of losing myself inside a book.

My novel “The Owl Keeper” will be published by Delacorte Press/Random House Children’s Books on April 13, 2010. The book, a post-apocalyptic fantasy, is for children ages ten and up (and ‘up’ means adult fantasy-lovers too!).

So I continue writing on this elegant hand-crafted desk, and the adventure continues..

Leave a Reply

